Press Releases

For Immediate Release: December 5, 2013

Contact: Josh Collins, 651-582-8205 or

Commissioner Cassellius Named to CCSSO Board of Directors

ROSEVILLE – This week, Minnesota Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius was elected to serve a three year term on the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) Board of Directors. CCSSO is a nonpartisan, nationwide, nonprofit organization of public officials who head state departments of elementary and secondary education across the U.S. The group provides leadership, advocacy and technical assistance on all major educational issues and national policy. Visit the Council’s website.

“The Council of Chief State School Officers convenes state education leaders around the important issues facing our schools and the sharing of strategies working in each of our states,” Commissioner Cassellius said. “I am honored to serve on the board of directors and look forward to sharing all the exciting work being done in Minnesota to increase student achievement as well as learn from my peers.”

The CCSSO Board of Directors includes:

President: Terry Holliday, Commissioner of Education, Kentucky
President-Elect: June Atkinson, Superintendent of Public Instruction, North Carolina
John Barge, State School Superintendent, Georgia
Brenda Cassellius, Commissioner of Education, Minnesota
Mitchell Chester, Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education, Massachusetts
Michael Flanagan, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Michigan
Kevin Huffman, Commissioner of Education, Tennessee
Deborah Gist, Commissioner of Education, Rhode Island
Pat Wright, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Virginia