Federal Title Programs (ESEA)
The Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), currently authorized as the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB), is federal legislation that promotes student achievement through school and district reform. NCLB requires each state to develop and implement a system for holding all districts and schools accountable for the education of students.

Reform efforts focus on: accountability for results; an emphasis on scientific research and doing what works; expanded parental options; and expanded local control and flexibility. Reports, memos, worksheets and other guidance are provided for district and school personnel to assist in the implementation of ESEA.

Federal Accountability Information
Information on federal accountability, including Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP), Multiple Measurements Rating (MMR), the ESEA Flexibility Waiver (also known as the NCLB Waiver), and the current accountability requirements and processes, can be found on the new Federal Accountability page.

Nonpublic Participation

  • Letter of Intent to Participate in Title I Programs  - 9/21/15
    This document is for districts to notify nonpublic school officials of the Title Programs that are available to their nonpublic students, staff and parents.
  • Nonpublic Consultation  - 9/14/15
    This document explains what topics and documentation should be discussed and signed with a nonpublic school official during consultation.
  • Third Party Providers  - 9/11/15
    This memorandum is about approving and monitoring a third-party to provide Title services to eligible nonpublic school students.
  • Affirmation of Consultation  - 9/11/15
    This document addresses the requirements that need to be discussed during consultation for Title I, II and/or III, annually. Attach the Affirmation of Consultation, completed and signed, by district and nonpublic school officials, to the district’s Title I SERVS application.
  • Students Living Outside District Boundaries  - 9/10/15
    This document explains who should provide Title I services to eligible nonpublic students.
  • Third-Party Provider Checklist  - 9/10/15
    This document outlines what the third-party contract for Title I services for eligible nonpublic students should include.
  • Title I, Part A - Nonpublic Participation, Allocating Funds for Equitable Services   - 8/3/15
    This document explains how to allocate funds for Title I services equitably to nonpublic schools.

Rural Education Achievement Program (REAP)

This program is designed to assist rural school districts in using federal resources more effectively to improve the quality of instruction and student academic achievement. REAP includes two separate programs: the Small, Rural School Achievement (SRSA) program and the Rural and Low-Income Schools (RLIS) program. Eligible local education agencies (LEAs) receive either an SRSA award or an RLIS award. See summary for eligibility and program details.