Minnesota's 2014 Blue Ribbon Schools!

Today, the U.S. Department of Education announced that eight schools in Minnesota have been named National Blue Ribbon Schools. The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes schools that are making exemplary progress in closing achievement gaps or exemplary academic performance. "I congratulate these schools for their great work to close achievement gaps and help all students succeed," said Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius. Read news release.

Pathways to Postsecondary - Phase II

Last year, the Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) and Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) collaborated to offer several “Pathways to Postsecondary” summits across the state. This year, your team is invited to explore opportunities for new or expanded partnerships between secondary and postsecondary systems to better prepare your students to be career- and college-ready. Summit schedule kicks-off in Bemidji on October 9. Six more dates and locations are scheduled around the state. Visit Ready, Set, Go to register online.

Kids Have All-Day to Read and Learn!

Erika Ruen's all-day kindergarten class enjoyed a surprise visit from Governor Mark Dayton and Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius who joined them for an enthusiastic "read-aloud" demonstration. Brainerd Public School's Superintendent Klint Willert and Garfield Elementary Principal Jonathan Clark invited the governor and commissioner to join several teachers and school board members for a round table discussion on the benefits of all-day kindergarten following the classroom visit.

Share Why You Chose

October is College Knowledge month! Soon, thousands of Minnesota students will submit their first college application. Many will be the first person in their family to apply to a technical, 2-year, or 4-year college. To celebrate, we invite all Minnesotans to share their college story. Post a video, photo or statement on your favorite social media platform, and don’t forget to use the hashtag #MNwhyichose.

Students Outperform Nation on ACT

Minnesota's high school seniors are top in the nation on the ACT for the ninth year in a row among states in which at least 50 percent of graduates took the test. They achieved an average score of 22.9 on the college entrance exam, compared to the national average of 21. Kids are doing better in English, Reading, Math and Science as well; 39 percent of Minnesota students met the benchmarks, compared to 26 percent nationally. Read the press release. Check out the national and state ACT Condition of College & Career Readiness 2014 reports.

Blue Ribbon Schools Eagle logo 
Teachers Meet Regularly as Teams to Improve Instruction 
Teacher Erika Ruen, Governor Mark Dayton and Commissioner Brenda Cassellius with Garfield Elementary All-day Kindergarten Class 
High School Students Submitting College Applications - Share Your College Story on Social Media 
Class of 2014 photo