2012 Press Releases

MEDIA ADVISORY: August 29, 2012

Contact: Keith Hovis, MDE, 651-582-8275 (o) 651-308-2252 (c) or keith.hovis@state.mn.us

Contact: Douglas Dooher, Education Minnesota 651-292-4820 (o) 651-245-6141 (c)

or douglas.dooher@educationminnesota.org

Commissioner Cassellius to Host a Teacher Roundtable at State Fair

Roundtable to Feature Teachers, Former Minnesota Teachers of the Year and Finalists

ROSEVILLE – As teacher’s prepare for the start of a new school year, Minnesota Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius will host a teacher roundtable at the Minnesota State Fair this Friday.

Dr. Cassellius will lead a discussion about challenges facing education in Minnesota, what is essential for student success and how the teaching profession has changed over the years.


• Brenda Cassellius, Minnesota Education Commissioner

• Jackie Roehl, Edina, English, Grade 10, Edina High School – 2012 Minnesota Teacher of the Year

• Christy Anderson, Mahtomedi, Mathematics, Grade 5, O.H. Anderson Elementary School – 2012 Minnesota Teacher of the Year Finalist

• Ryan Canton, St. Michael-Albertville, U.S. History, Grade 8, St. Michael-Albertville Middle School West – 2012 Minnesota Teacher of the Year Finalist

• Robyn Dettling Madson, Forest Lake, English, Grades 10-12, Forest Lake High School – 2012 Minnesota Teacher of the Year Finalist


• Minnesota Teacher Roundtable


• 11:00 am on Friday, August 31, 2012


• Minnesota State Fair, Minnesota Department of Education Booth, Education Building