Press Releases

For Immediate Release: December 5, 2011

Contact: Charlene Briner 651.582.1145

Teacher Evaluation Working Group Appointed

Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius names panel to develop Minnesota’s new teacher effectiveness tool

Roseville, MN – Minnesota Department of Education Commissioner Brenda Cassellius has appointed 35 members to a panel charged with developing a new evaluation system for Minnesota teachers. Mandated by the legislature as part of the new teacher evaluation law passed during the 2011 special session, the Teacher Evaluation Working Group will develop an evaluation model to be used by school districts and teachers in the event they do not agree on a local evaluation model.

“This task force has the opportunity to develop a rich and meaningful tool that will benefit students and assist teachers in their continued quest to become outstanding professional educators,” said Commissioner Cassellius. “This outstanding group of individuals will help us strengthen and grow our teacher’s skills in the classroom. The work they will do takes on heightened importance in light of Minnesota’s achievement gap and the disparities that exist among our students. A robust teacher effectiveness system is critical to providing the resources and supports necessary for teachers to improve outcomes for every Minnesota student.”

The first meeting of the task force will be held on Tuesday, December 13, 2011, from 4:00 to 6:30 p.m. at the Minnesota Department of Education in Conference Center A .

Members of the task force are listed below:

• Beth Anderson, Secondary Music teacher; Esko Public Schools
• Gwen Rosha Anderson, Elementary ELL teacher; Rocori Public Schools
• Jay Anderson, High School Math teacher, Local President; Osseo Public Schools
• Shawn Andress, Middle School Social Studies teacher; Park Rapids Public Schools
• Jim Bartholomew, Education Policy Director, Minnesota Business Partnership
• Dan Beck, Middle School Social Studies teacher, Local President; Roseville Public Schools
• John Bellingham, Social Studies teacher; Board of Teaching member; Faribault Public Schools
• Chithra Binoy, Parent, PTA; Wayzata Public Schools
• Mary Bischoff, High School Media Specialist; Orono Public Schools
• William Book, Elementary principal, Moundsview Public Schools
• Laura Bordelon, Senior Vice President, Advocacy, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
• Maggie Borman, 2nd Grade Teacher, Best Academy East, Minneapolis, Teach for America
• Karrie Boser, High School principal, Pierz Public Schools
• Peter Eckhoff, Middle School Classroom teacher; Robbinsdale Public Schools
• Amy Galatz, Elementary principal, Deer River Public Schools
• Sue Ann Gruver, Superintendent, Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools
• David Heistad, Director of Research, Evaluation & Assessment, Minneapolis Public Schools
• Joseph Hill, Superintendent; Sartell Public Schools
• Ann Hobbie, Parent, Parents United; St. Paul Public Schools
• Lynda Ihlan, Life Sciences teacher; Farmington Public Schools
• Randall Keillor, Student Performance Improvement Program Coordinator, St. Francis Public schools; retired teacher
• Randi Kirchner, Education Minnesota Staff-Rochester
• Lloyd Komatsu, Director of Assessment & Testing; Forest Lake Public Schools
• Stephanie Larson, Elementary teacher; South Washington County Schools
• Jackie Magnuson, Teacher in Northfield; School Board Chair, Rosemount-Apple Valley- Eagan
• Mary Cathryn Ricker, MS English teacher; President, St. Paul Federation of Teachers
• Curt Rock, Elementary teacher; Foley Public Schools
• Jeff Ronneberg, Superintendent of Schools; Spring Lake Park Public Schools
• Jodi Sapp, School Board Member; Mankato Public Schools
• Mistilina (Misty) Sato, Associate Professor Department of Curriculum & Instruction; Teacher Development; University of Minnesota
• Louise Sundin, BOSA & MNSCU board member; Retired teacher/former Minneapolis Teacher President
• D. John Sylvester, MSBA Staff; St Peter
• Brenda Vatthauer, Middle School principal; Montevideo Public Schools
• Neil Witikko, High School English teacher; Hermantown Public Schools

** Four ex officio members of the legislature will be named to represent the majority and minority caucuses of the Minnesota Senate and the House of Representatives.

Visit the Minnesota Department of Education website at