Federal Accountability

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), as reauthorized by the No Child Left Behind Act, requires states to hold schools accountable for their performance. Historically, this has been done through the use of the Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) measurement.

In February 2012, the U.S. Department of Education approved Minnesota’s request for ESEA Flexibility, which now allows the state to hold schools accountable in a different way. Using the Multiple Measurement Rating (MMR) and Focus Rating (FR), the state now measures schools on multiple indicators of success and uses those ratings in a system of recognition, accountability and support.

Minnesota will be requesting an extension to the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Flexibility Waiver.  For more information on the state’s waiver extension, see the January 2014 Waiver Extension Stakeholder Meeting below and read this brief overview.

Schools that receive Title I funds are eligible for one of the five school designations. See the 2013-2014 lists of Reward, Celebration Eligible, Continuous Improvement, Focus and Priority schools.

2013 MMR and FR results, reflecting performance during the 2012-2013 school year, can be found on the MDE Data Center. E-mail MDE with questions about the MMR and FR data and general questions about Minnesota’s new accountability system.

The templates below may be used for parent notification after specific district information is added: