Pathways to Postsecondary - 2.0

Last year, the Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) and Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) collaborated to offer several “Pathways to Postsecondary” summits across the state. This year, your team is invited to explore opportunities for new or expanded partnerships between secondary and postsecondary systems to better prepare your students to be career- and college-ready. Registration remains open for the Dec. 4 summit in Rochester and Dec. 5 summit in St. CloudVisit Ready, Set, Go to register online.

We Won a Tekne!

The Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) and the Works Museum were honored by the Minnesota High Tech Association (MHTA) with a “Tekne” Award for Collaboration and Community Impact. The award recognized MDE and the Works Museum for the Excellence in Elementary Engineering Education (E4 conference), providing elementary teachers with professional development in the area of engineering.

Calling All Kid Filmmakers!

Entries into Minnesota’s 90-Second Newbery Film Festival now being accepted. Kid filmmakers of all ages are invited to develop their most creative ideas into a 90-second film that tells the entire story of a Newbery-winning book. Teachers, Librarians, Media Specialists and Parents are encouraged to visit the 90-Second Newbery website for inspiration, guidelines and how to submit entries. Deadline for submitting films is December 20, 2014! Read media advisory.

Leading the Way -- Year After Year

This year, 131 schools are designated as Reward schools and 217 schools are classified as Celebration Eligible. Reward and Celebration Eligible schools are high-performing in the areas of student test scores, student growth, achievement gap reduction and graduation rates, and receive federal funds for children from low-income families. Forty of the Reward schools have received the honor three times and 20 have received it four times. “Some of our Reward schools are truly beating the odds, and many of them are doing it year after year,” said Commissioner Cassellius. View Rewards schools list. Visit web page for more.

Facts and Information About Ebola

The Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) is working with the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) to provide information about the Ebola virus to schools. And though, officials and health experts continue to stress that the risk to Minnesotans is currently very low, Governor Dayton and and MDH Commissioner Ehlinger have convened leaders in the health, human services and public safety sectors to develop prevention and, if needed, rapid response plans for our state. Visit the MDH Website for additional information. Or call the Ebola Information Line: 651-201-3920 or 1-800-657-3903.

H- High School Students Explore Postsecondary Options
The Works Museum and Minnesota Department of Education logos
90-Second Newbery Film Competition logo 
Two Young Students Focused on Reading
Red brick school building with U.S. flag